Book: The God Delusion

I found it on the our bookshelf and was immediately curious about it, seeing as it provides evidence for the non-existence of god.

I read through chapter 9 and the prologue and was rather struck at with the conviction he attacks the people who believe, and all the ‘bad things’ they’ve done. I personally have no problem with religion as long as people are careful with it, but his view unfortuately disagrees with my own.

I am rather agnostic so I am open to the idea of there being a god (or gods) but so far the evidence suggests to me that they do not. He simply and bluntly disagrees with the idea of god and does not seem to even want to like religious people.

I realize that atheism is a religious position in itself and he is perfectly entitled to say and do this, but this is rather extreme in comparision to agnosticism which I have always thought of as fence-sitting.

I realise that having only read the prologue and chapter 9 my view of the book may be incomplete and my view is no reason to not read it.

Posted in Books. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Book: The God Delusion”

  1. David Says:

    What evidence do you need? Take anything in the world…and keep going back…further…from what it is to how it started to how it got that way…eventually you have a cause that had no cause. Science calls it the Big Bang. Before the Big Bang, there was nothing…but God.

    • nimblejack Says:

      I never said that I do not believe in god. Agnosticism is beliving that there might be no god, seeing as how there is no physical evidence, only belief. It also leaves open the idea that there are many things that modern science and the scientific method cannot explain, and that god may be responsible for this. So please do not confuse agnosticism with atheism.

  2. Alec Says:

    @david — just cause you can’t currently explain something seems a pretty poor reason to conjure images of some mystical old people; and then use that as a reason to justify, large scale, ongoing racist and homophobic actions against others

    @nimblejack — yes, Dawkins is very uncompromising. Makes you think at least. Given all the issues around the world created by the religious I am beginning to think Dawkins may be right. Should I be described as a militant or fundamentalist atheist?


Leave a Reply

